Why Get CS5? Productivity and Competition!

Why Get CS5? Productivity and Competition!

I think it’s fair to say that, more than ever, Photoshop is a tool for digital photographers. Is the CS5 upgrade really worth the investment? In a word, yes.

Even if the overall operating speed of CS5 vs CS4 is roughly equivalent, the improved toolbox should still help us edit more efficiently, and create more appealing images.

For example, the tools available in CS5 for refining selections, and masking hair or other complex items, will save time in post-production. They are significantly better than their predecessors.

In regard to the appearance of finished images, improved noise reduction, HDR, panorama stitching, and content-aware fill all offer significant upgrades. Better looking images makes us more competitive.

Another way to look at it: if I work on just five images a week, and I assume I save just ten minutes per image, that equals 50 minutes saved per week. At $65-85/hour, that equals $54-71week, or $216-283 per month.

Your mileage may vary – so download the trial version and see for yourself.

5 thoughts on “Why Get CS5? Productivity and Competition!

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Why Get CS5? Productivity and Competition! « David Saffir's Photography and Printing Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. I agree that Photoshop CS5 brings some significant enhancements to the tool set. One of the hang-ups I hear from other photographers is that they are getting good results with whatever version they are currently using. It’s a personal decision for each person but I pre-ordered my version and installed it on Sunday night. I’ve invested some time in tutorials to learn how to best use the features, especially in Camera Raw. I am pleased with the results.

    Thanks for the post.

  3. I couldn’t agree more David. Technology should save us time and each upgrade continues to earn its keep. As a Mac user, however, I need to wait for some 3rd party software updates so I can use all my filters on CS5. I’m patient.

  4. Dave,
    I’m a CS3 user, but I use OnOne MaskPro to do some of those tricky background replacements. Does CS5 replace the functions of MaskPro?

    You are providing good information, Thanks.

    Norm

  5. …in what way is “noise reduction improved”..? As someone who made the jump from Photoshop 3.0.5 to CS4 I am amazed at how many annoyances still exist and some that have been added since then…
    But worse, I don’t see Adobe making any serious efforts to truly refine the most important functions, such as sharpening or noise reduction, although it surely could be done…
    So I use Capture NX for the basics and Photoshop for the necessary cloning chores…(and some other things as sometimes desirable)
    Masking hair is a very, very difficult thing to do and in my opinion, there is no “automatic” way to accomplish that…I have seen demoes for fifteen years. And I have done it myself…has to be done manually…
    If one uses Nikon and care about one’s images, one truly should not use Photoshop as one’s “basic” tool…

Leave a Reply

